Return to Our People

Our Members and Trustees

Mandy Abley


I have worked in education for over 30 years, the last 11 of them as head teacher of Aboyne Lodge primary in St Albans. I have a degree in English literature from UCL, studied for my PGCE at the Institute of Education in London and returned there to complete a Masters in Educational Leadership and Management., and my NPQH.

In 2017 I was invited to join the first cohort of the Herts for Learning Executive Head Teacher training programme and in September 2018 took over as headteacher at Templewood Primary in Welwyn Garden City, alongside my headship at Aboyne Lodge. I remained head at both schools until August 2021.

I was appointed a local leader of education in 2013 and supported many schools across Hertfordshire, until I became a Hertfordshire Improvement Partner in 2017. While I have now retired from Headship, I continue to work as a HIP, offering support and challenge to school leaders across the County.

Richard Boulton


Richard is Director of Finance and Operations at Sir George Monoux College and a non-executive director at Sirius Legal Limited. Previously Richard was a senior consultant at PA Consulting. Richard has also held a number of senior operational posts, including being the Global Operations Director at the Financial Times. In the past he has been a school governor and chair of the finance committee, and also the chair and trustee at a local Hertfordshire charity.

Tony Breslin


Tony is a teacher by profession and an independent educational researcher, author and trainer specialising in governance, school improvement and curriculum development. He chairs the Pathways for All Board, which overseas sixth form and other post-16 education and training provision across Kent, and is a consultant in the HFL Governance team.

Previously, he has served as a National Leader of Governance, as a Trustee at Adoption UK and at Anthem Schools Trust, and as Chair at Bushey Primary Education Federation, Human Scale Education and the Association for the Teaching of the Social Sciences. Tony has also worked as a Chief Examiner at GCSE, a Principal Examiner at A level, and as a local authority School Improvement Adviser. Between 2001 and 2010 he was CEO at the Citizenship Foundation (Now Young Citizens), the influential education NGO, and is credited with developing the concept of the Citizenship-rich school. He is currently working on the final text in a trilogy focused on the educational impact of lockdown.

Rebecca Daulman

CEO and Trustee

Rebecca has enjoyed a broad range of roles and responsibilities in the education sector during her career which, to date, has spanned more than twenty years. She is passionate about working collaboratively with a range of stakeholders in order to provide the best possible learning opportunities and life experiences for children and young people so they can flourish and reach their full potential. As a result, in addition to two headships in outstanding schools, Rebecca has embraced many other exciting leadership opportunities, which have included working with amazing teams in order to set up and lead a cluster of Children’s Centres, an Extended Education Support Service and a Teaching School. Throughout her career, Rebecca has also had the pleasure of offering school improvement support in a range of schools, including when working as a National Leader of Education.

Paul Hill


Paul is a qualified accountant (FCA) who has broad experience in finance with several companies in the commercial sector, before specialising in academies finance since 2008. His most recent role was as Chief Finance Officer for the Learning in Harmony Trust, from which he retired in June 2020. He also has experience of being a Vice-Chair and Chair of Governors in schools in his home borough, and experience as a director of an education support services organisation. He is very keen to maintain his involvement in supporting excellent education for children as a Member of the Trust.

Colette Lamb


Colette is the Headteacher of Toddington St. George C of E Academy school, which also has Specialist Education provision for children with profound hearing loss. The Hearing Impaired Provision serves families across Central Bedfordshire Local Authority. Further to leading this specialist SEND provision, Colette has extensive experience of improving the provision for children with ASD through high quality education. Colette’s senior leadership background has been in school improvement focussing on Teaching and Learning, and SEND. Throughout her career Colette has worked in areas of high deprivation, working to remove barriers for disadvantaged children.

Jonathan Millidge


Jon Millidge MBE has recently retired having been the Company Secretary, Group HR Director and Chief Risk and Governance Officer for Royal Mail Group PLC all roles on the Management Board of the nation’s postal carrier. As Company Secretary, Jon saw the organisation through its transition into the private sector. Jon was also the company lead on pensions and continues to advise clients on pension issues. Jon was also a trustee of the Business Disability Forum for 7 years.

Richard Preece

Richard Preece


Richard is a Chartered Engineer and has had a technology focused career with wide international experience. He has worked in a variety of senior capacities, including roles at CEO and director level across a number of diverse organisations

Lizzie Rabin


Skillset: Experienced global finance professional working for large, global, multi-site companies across both hospitality and retail including CFO/finance director function, transformation/change management/restructure, commercial activities, budgeting, forecasting, finance systems, strategic planning and core accounting function; passionate people leader; previous Trustee experience

Niraj Shah


Niraj is a qualified Actuary, with 24 years experience in insurance and financial services, operating both at executive and non-executive director level.

Carol Shutkever

Carol Shutkever

Trustee - Chair of the Board

Carol is a solicitor and was a corporate partner in a London law firm for 20 years. She headed the law firm’s corporate governance advisory team, covering topics such as board governance, audit, risk management, culture, diversity and stakeholder engagement. She was also head of the firm’s UK corporate knowledge management team, responsible for analysing new law and regulation, the firm’s knowledge resources and its corporate training programme. Having retired as a law firm partner in 2018 she now has a number of roles, including as a non-executive director at Companies House and Vice-Chair of a homeless charity in Hertfordshire.

Andrew Simmons, OBE

Member and Trustee

Education, skills, children’s support services, preparation for adulthood, national and local policy development, management of multi million pound budgets, working with politicians (local and national), board chair (National Connexions Network)

Matthew Taylor


Matthew is a solicitor and Partner in a law firm in the City of London specialising in infrastructure and construction dispute resolution. He also regularly provides live project advice to help manage risk and avoid disputes during the procurement and delivery of major infrastructure and construction projects.

Details of business and pecuniary interests for Trustees, Members and the Executive (including appointment and term of office information) and Trustee attendance records can be found on the Trust-wide statutory policies and documents page.



Permanent link to this article: